AHTA Leadership

Board of Directors


The AHTA is governed by a nine member Board of Directors elected by the membership . 

The following nine individuals currently serve on the Board of Directors for the Anguilla Hotel and Tourism Association for the 2018/2019 year: 

  • Conrad Wilbert Fleming (Anguilla Great House) - President
  • Janine Edwards (Sunset Homes) - Vice President
  • Rolf Masshardt (Carimar Beach Club) - Treasurer
  • Sharon Richardson (Anguilla Community College) - Secretary
  • Peter Parles (Straw Hat Restaurant)
  • Kerchelle Jn Charles (Digicel)
  • Sandra Richardson (Richardson's Car Rental)

Executive Director


Mrs. Gilda Gumbs-Samuel serves as Executive Director of AHTA.  

Born in St. Lucia, Gilda lived for several years in North Side, Anguilla, before moving to the United States where she pursued her education at Georgia State University and Atlanta Technical College.

Her career in the hospitality industry included stints at the Sheraton Corporation and Hyatt Regency.  Gilda also held management responsibility at the Georgia World Congress Center, one of the country’s largest convention and trade centers, where she was in charge of the Concessions Department, and at the Atlanta Merchandise Mart, where she was responsible forf their food and beverage department.

She moved to St. Lucia in 1989 where she was initially employed as Inside Sales Manager for the Sunswept Resort hotel chain.  She was responsible for educating travel agents, organizing fam trips, conducting travel trade presentations in the US and Canada, conducting in-house site tours, and exercising full responsibility for the visits of travel partners to the island. Gilda then assumed the position of Resident Manager of Rendezvous Hotel, a 102-bedroom property in St. Lucia, where she worked for five years,.  

In 2007, Mrs. Gumbs-Samuel relocated home to Anguilla, where she served for three years as the Membership and Events Manager at the Anguilla Hotel and Tourism Association before becoming AHTA's Executive Director in April, 2010.